Kaymar Awards

The Kaymar Award is given in April every year, supposedly because the N3F was organized in the month of April. The selection is made by a committee, consisting of previous winners who are still in the club, from nominations submitted by members. The award, unlike other awards in fandom, can be awarded only once. It is not given for talent or for popularity, but for work — work for the benefit of the club and its members. The award is a memorial to K. Martin Carlson [1904-1986], who originated, maintained, and financed it for 25 years. Carlson was a long-time N3F member who held many positions in the club, including club historian. He went by the fan name of Kaymar.

Year Recipient
1959 Ray C. Higgs
1960 Eva Firestone
1961 Ralph M. Holland
1962 Janie Lamb
1963 Art Hayes
1964 Seth Johnson
1965 Stan Woolston
1966 Donald Franson
1967 Alma Hill
1968 Ann Chamberlin
1969 Donald Miller
1970 Elinor Poland
1971 Gary Labowitz
1972 Ned Brooks
1973 Elaine Wojciechowiski
1974 Joanne Burger
1975 Sheryl Birkhead
1976 Will Morris
1977 Lynne Holdom
1978 Harry Warner, Jr.
1979 Frank Denton
1980 John W. Andrews
1981 Edward W. Ludwig
1982 Owen K. Laurion
1983 Sally A. Syrjala
1984 K. Martin Carlson
1985 Howard DeVore
1986 Lola Ann (Andrew) Center
1987 David Heath, Jr.
1988 Fred Jakobcic
1989 William Center
1990 Catherine Mintz
1991 Tim Gatewood
1992 Marianne Turlington
1993 Sandra Morrese
1994 Lyne-Marie Masamitsu
1995 Michele (Nowak) Center
1996 Craig Boyd
1997 Diane (Miller) Blackwood
1998 Susan VanSchuyver
1999 Jefferson Swycaffer
2000 Janine Stinson
2001 Jacquline Lichtenberg
2002 Dennis Davis
2003 Harold Marcum
2004 Ginny Benson
2005 Joy Beeson
2006 Ruth Davidson
2007 George Phillies
2008 Patricia King
2009 R-Laurraine Tutihasi
2010 Jon D Swartz
2011 Jean Lamb
2012 Heath Row
2013 Sarah Harder
2014 David Speakman
2015 Holly Wilson
2016 Judy Carroll

Last updated: January 15, 2017 at 13:05 pm